Make It Monday: Bone Broth

Right now, this is one of the biggest fads

bone broth.

Mostly called bone broth or mineral broth,

people swear by it. It’s being sold by the cupful in big cities, and people love it.  People believe that the broth has healing properties, and drink it when they are sick, or starting to feel sick.

So what is it?

Basically homemade chicken broth.  There is a lot of debate on what the difference between stock and broth is, but the basics of both are pretty much the same.

I’ve been making my own broth for quite a few years now, whether it’s chicken broth or turkey broth (I do make a soup with ham bones, but don’t usually make broth out of it, yet as I’ve learned you can make broth from many different kinds of meat/fish products).

I’ve also been reading a lot about both of these things, so two of my resources have been The Kitchn, which discussed the difference between broth and stock (I also always read comments, people will tell you their tried and true tricks and methods to their recipes in the comments), or this article/recipe by The Kitchn for chicken bone broth. Also Joy the Baker has a recipe for Magic Mineral Broth which adds some ingredients I would never think of, and Wellness Mama covers some interesting points, too!

So why do I make broth?  I think it’s a great way to use a whole chicken. Most of the time I use a rotisserie chicken (or if it’s Thanksgiving and I have a leftover carcass) and I can use the whole animal. I can shred the chicken, then have it for soups/stews, quesadillas, enchiladas…The list goes on and on.

Did someone say chicken?
Did someone say chicken?
IMG_6989
Sorted chicken, broth, and the part I toss

I also buy a lot of produce–and if I buy a bunch of carrots but only use a couple, I tend to forget about them and then they start to rot in the fridge. The other day I made sure to go through all of my produce that was on it’s last leg, using half for my stock and then using the other half to freeze for future stock.  I made sure things were trimmed, cleaned, then tossed them in a gallon bag in the freezer.  That way, I have less work next time I get a chicken and would be interested in making stock.

Ready to freeze!
Ready to freeze!

So basically–I use the whole chicken, I use up produce I might otherwise toss, and I have broth at the end!  So I don’t have to buy store-bought, annnnd I know what was in it and have control over the seasonings (note: it’s not to salty!).

IMG_6994
Ingredients in some of the stock that I made, I add dry parsley if I don’t have fresh. Usually it strains out in the end.
IMG_6996
Ready for water.

 Cook chicken/poultry for 24 hours, and beef for 24-48 hours as a rule of thumb (this way it makes sure that you get all those nutrients from the bone in there).

Use it in soups, stews, cooking….or drink it alone!

Enjoy

-M

Leave a Reply

