Tried & True Tuesday: The Pioneer Woman’s Knock You Naked Brownies

My husband asked me if I could make some treats for him to bring into work for someone’s birthday. The person didn’t like cakes or cupcakes, but liked brownies, so my husband came to me and pleaded for me to make that one kind of brownies. I have made them many times, originally made the for my husband’s MCCC (Maneuver Captain’s Career Course) colleagues, and it ended up being very popular (not one bite left!).  I have made it here and there, and I have always liked it.  I’m a huge fan of chocolate and caramel.

The recipe is rarely simple to make, made primarily with a cake mix.

First you mix german chocolate cake mix, butter, and evaporated milk.

And some nuts, if you like them. We omit them since my husband doesn’t like nuts in his baked goods.

IMG_5734

Once mixed, split the dough in half.

IMG_5735

Then you press it into the bottom of an 8×8 greased pan:

IMG_5736

When I pop the first section into the oven, I start the carmel portion.

IMG_5737

I unwrapped the caramels and put them in a bowl with evaporated milk double broil style:

IMG_5738

You want to melt the caramels with the evaporated milk, making a sauce.

Just a warning, this takes some time and is a slow process.

IMG_5739 IMG_5740

Once the bottom layer is fully cooked, pour the caramel on top:

IMG_5741

You then put mini chocolate chips on top of the carmel layer as evenly as you can.

IMG_5742

The other half is pressed out into an 8×8 square to set on top.

IMG_5743

I sort of messed this up putting it in….But it turned out just fine. Sometimes this doesn’t come up in one piece, so it’s ok to piece it together on top. It’ll turn out ok.

IMG_5744

After final baking it’ll look like this:

IMG_5745

And here is a view of the side, so you can sort of see the layers.

IMG_5746Once cool you can cut the brownies. The first cut will be the hardest to remove. Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

Like the way this looks?

Find the recipe at The Pioneer Woman Cooks.

-M

Leave a Reply

